Crochet Basket from Elefant Twist Macrame Cord

2016-03-03 15.09.47.jpg

I picked up a skein of Elefant Twist olefin fiber macrame cord (from the 1970s) at the thrift store in a bag of other crafting goodies.  It was dirty and it smelled bad.

I knocked together a little crocheted basket in less than an hour.  I melted the yarn ends to keep them from unraveling.  Then I tossed it in the washing machine.  No need to even drip dry – the spin cycle took care of all that.  It looks (and smells) nice and clean.

I guess this is why rug makers like olefin so much!

I’m going to try washing the rest of the skein in a mesh bag so that I don’t have to handle it when it’s so dirty.

Leave a Reply

