A hole in my favorite jeans!

Doggone it, just when I was getting them broken in!  These are my favorites too.

2016-01-05 20.02.26

Normally by the time I’ve ripped the knees out of my jeans, I’ve ripped a lot of other stuff out too and I don’t even bother to mend them.  But I really like these jeans, so I decided a patch was in order.

I don’t know about you, but when I have a giant hole in my clothes, I like to put a giant obnoxious patch on it.  I’m glad that I can sew, and I don’t mind a patch as long as the patch is as awesome as the jeans.

I used some polyester knit scraps and an old button to make a patch and I won’t bore you with the details. The knit has a little bit of stretch, so I hope the patch will stretch at the knees instead of tearing again.

2016-01-05 20.21.31

I flipped my pants inside out and then ripped the seam of the pants near the hole – a few inches above it and a few inches below it.  I ripped out the non-topstitched seam because that’s a lot easier to sew back together when I’m done.

2016-01-05 20.24.47

I pinned my patch to the right side of my pants directly over the hole.  Then I zigzagged all the way around the patch.

2016-01-05 20.34.33

This is what it looks like from the other side.

2016-01-05 20.36.09

Then I pinned the seam that I tore out earlier, and I sewed it back up.  I used the stretch stitch on my machine.

2016-01-05 21.35.58

And here are my jeans, as good as new!  Well, now that I see the photo, I am a bit concerned about the area under the patch.  It’s looking pretty worn.  But I have some lovely grass-like green poly knit that I can use for patch number two if necessary.  I could make that little ducky a nest.

I know what else is coming.  When I made the patch, I cut out a second duck (mirror image) for when the other knee goes. I’ll give it about a week.

Thanks for stopping by!

 

Leave a Reply

