How I fix my plastic skeletons

I love the plastic skeletons, but I hate them too.  I got them a few years ago at a rummage sale.  The woman who sold them to me said she couldn’t take it any more because they broke so easily.  Here’s the problem:

the "ert thing"
the ert thing

The problem is the ert thing.  The skeleton goes together by popping the ert thing into the hole on the next bone.  My eldest does not like ert things.  They bother him.  So he breaks them off.  Even if he didn’t have a thing about ert things, these ert things are very flimsy.

the hole
the hole

Trying to connect the hole to another hole doesn’t work, but we can’t just make another ert thing.

Junk to the rescue!

junk
junk

I use bits of flexible plastic from a broken cup, some string, and a hole punch to make a repair doohickey.

2015-10-15 17.28.24

I twist or fold the plastic and jam it in the hole on each bone.  Here I’ve got it twisted.

2015-10-15 17.29.29

Here it’s folded.

2015-10-15 17.30.07

The repair is done!  Well, for one joint anyway.

2015-10-15 17.36.52

Spooky!

One thought on “How I fix my plastic skeletons

Leave a Reply

