Big Basket for the Hubster

SAMSUNG

I found a couple of yards of royal blue knit fabric at a thrift store.  Hey, that’s one of Glen’s school colors!

I’ve seen baskets like these all over the place on Pinterest.  I tried to follow one of the patterns, but it didn’t work for me.  I think my fabric yarn ended up being thicker than the stuff the pattern designers used, because when I tried to crochet the bottom, it turned out all ruffly.  So I ripped that out and went freestyle.

I used double crochet instead of single crochet, and I increased my stitches more slowly too when I was making the bottom of the basket.  I had a few false starts, but I eventually got the hang of it.

SAMSUNG

 

I kept going until I ran out of the blue fabric yarn, and then I destashed some white polyester knit and made that into yarn too.  I just barely had enough to make the basket.

The basket is pretty good sized – about a foot in diameter.

He’s not sure what he’s going to do with it.  The kids had several suggestions.  My favorite was that he could put it on his desk like a tip jar.  He could seed the basket with a little of his own money to get people started.  Maybe even a $5 bill to offer a subtle suggestion.  Do professors get tips??  Where do my kids get these ideas??

Speaking of my one-and-only, here’s what he’s been up to lately.  And here.  Here too.  It’s giving him gray hair!

 

3 thoughts on “Big Basket for the Hubster

Leave a Reply

