Mom, don’t read this.

Sorry guys, my mom checks my blog and I don’t want to spoil her surprise.  Well, it’s probably not much of a surprise anymore, but anyway…

Everyone besides my mom, there’s still time, and you would feel very happy if you made time for this little project.

When my youngest was in first grade, he announced that he doesn’t believe in Valentine’s Day.  I was puzzled, because I could not understand the rejection of chocolate.  He said he didn’t like it because it was a made-up holiday that forces people to spend money, and that it probably made his grandma (my mom) feel lonely and left out.  My dad died in 2000, and my mom has recovered.  She has a fulfilling life.  She has lots of friends and family, and we love her.  But my son is right.  Single people, people not in a romantic relationship, widows and widowers can easily feel lonely on a day like Valentine’s Day.

We’ve started making stuff for people who might feel left out, because that just stinks!

Here’s a sneak peek at this year’s goodies:

SAMSUNG

We made some of it ourselves, and some of it is from Dollar Tree.

SAMSUNG SAMSUNG

Chocolate candy and red rose soap thingies come in heart-shaped boxes, so of course my kids wanted these.

SAMSUNG

We make memory wire bracelets by the zillions around here.  I like them for gifts because they expand to fit just about any size of wrist.  Plus, making them is fun!

SAMSUNG

Banana muffin, mmmmmmm!

SAMSUNG

A little origami here.  We made some baskets with red heart bookmarks and some with cranes.

SAMSUNG

And last, a sweet little card.

SAMSUNG

Then we popped everything into a Dollar Tree basket and used a little plastic wrap to hold it all together.  These little baskets fit into a priority mail 7x7x6 box, and weigh just around a pound, so shipping is pretty low.  We’ll be dropping off the local baskets in person today.

My poor son thinks he’s being all un-romantic and rebellious by rejecting contrived romance in favor of authentic love.  Of course, he is doing just the opposite.  It turns all of us to mush!  He’s a little teddy bear, and all the girls know it, to his great chagrin.

Please take a peek around your life and see if you know anyone who might feel left out on Saturday.  It doesn’t have to be a gift basket – just a card or phone call or invitation to coffee or a walk is nice.  We could all use a little love!

One thought on “Mom, don’t read this.

  1. I did NOT read this until the package came and then I suspected that I could safely read it. Everything you said about Mr T is true…a great kid…with his heart in the right place…and very handsome as well. Once I made the mistake of telling him how handsome he is and it was not well received. I think he has heard it from too many girls. Thanks for the great, thoughtful gift. I always miss your dad and the holdays are always bittersweet. I am eating the muffin as I type. Delicious!

    Like

Leave a Reply

