Needle Felting Some Old Sweaters

 

I’ve been wanting to try needle felting for a while now.   I bought a felting kit a few months ago.  My daughter tried it out right when it arrived, but she wasn’t into it.

I had a couple of sweaters that I bought at the thrift store.  They had some holes, but that’s OK because I bought them for the wool.

I washed them in hot and then dried them on the hottest setting.  Then I cleaned out the lint trap and dried them again.  Wow, those sweaters shrunk!

SAMSUNG

I picked out a nice big piece of sweater and some contrasting trimmed-off seams from another sweater.  I got out the kit and figured out how to put the needle together and started fooling around.  After about a minute, maybe less, my daughter came and took over.  Look at her hands flying around.

Between the two of us, we broke three needles in about five minutes.  Rookies!

She casually mentioned that she thought serial killers probably enjoyed needlework because they get to stab stuff, and they get lots of practice, which maybe improves their aim.  So I casually went over and locked up the knives.

She has got to cut back on those mystery books!

I saw where this was going, so I went to the computer and ordered another one of those kits.  And a few more needles.  Then I saw that someone had ordered some yarn (purple!) and I got that all ready to go.  Then back to the kitchen and I poked wool while my daughter got herself a bedtime snack.

SAMSUNG

We stabbed and stabbed and this is what the sweater looked like at bed time.

I thought the third thingie from the right needed a little more curl, so I cut a bit more sweater.

SAMSUNG

I just set it down where I wanted it and poked it in there a bunch of times.  I like being able to wing it a bit.  I guess I prefer some things in life without a pattern.

We’ll work on this some more tomorrow.  I guess we’ll have to decide soon what we are making.  I thought maybe a pillow or a little bag.

Happy Thanksgiving!

SAMSUNG

 

 

2 thoughts on “Needle Felting Some Old Sweaters

Leave a Reply

