I added a fluffy top to my already-obnoxious, sparkly socks!

SAMSUNG

These socks were already pretty bold, but kind of pedestrian.  I decided to send them right over the top and add a row of fluffy pom poms.

OK, here’s the real reason.  I hate it when I wear some fancy socks and they’re adorable except for the roll of flab at the top.  What is the deal with that??  And it’s not just a middle-aged mother-of-three thing either.  Seriously, when I was young and I weighed about 100 pounds and my legs were sticks I had rolls at the tops of my socks too.  It seems that if the socks aren’t tight enough to squeeze out a little roll of flab, they’re not tight enough to stay up either.  How annoying!

SAMSUNG

The first thing I had to do was put a row of blanket stitching at the top of each sock.  No, I lied.  The first thing I had to do was paint my nails white and then put a whole mess of glitter polish on them.  The theme of the day is obnoxious, baby!  Sparkles and glitter, yeah!

Oh yeah, back to the socks.  I used some zig-zaggy white acrylic baby yarn.  I got it at a rummage sale, so I don’t know what kind it is.

SAMSUNG

Then I crocheted a row of Spark-A-Doodle to the top of that.

SAMSUNG

Look, I took a selfie!

The flab is still there, but it’s completely hidden.

I love how the sparkly red lips compete with the sparkly white pom poms for attention.  And “Kiss me,” well, who couldn’t agree with that?

I know everyone else is getting ready for Halloween and Thanksgiving, but right now I can’t wait for spring!  Or maybe I should root around the stores for some more seasonally-appropriate fancy socks.  Hmmm…

2 thoughts on “I added a fluffy top to my already-obnoxious, sparkly socks!

Leave a Reply

