DIY Cheap Recycled Outdoor Hanging Ghost Decorations

2014-10-12 10.15.37 (1)

I made this little ghost from a thrifted sheer curtain panel, an empty milk jug, and some scraps of vinyl fabric.

I cut out face shapes from the vinyl and glued it to the curtain.  I tossed the curtain over an empty milk jug and tied it to the tree.

Bonus: the curtain already had a little hole, and that saved me some time.

I tried to make my ghost scary, but he just looks worried.  Poor little guy!

SAMSUNG

For advanced crafters: I keep a huge stash of these light-up glow sticks on hand.  I buy them at the Dollar Tree.  They are nice for when the power goes out so the kids don’t get scared, and they come in handy for decorating too.  Just crack a stick and drop it in the milk jug.  It glows for a few hours, so one stick per night is all you need.

Don’t worry, that’s not a real rat.

SAMSUNG

Ooo, spooky!

SAMSUNG

I made this ghost last year.  I sewed the face bits (made from rags) instead of gluing them.  Sewing may have been easier than gluing if you can believe that.  When I used the glue, I had problems with the glue leaking through the sheer curtain and sticking to other things.  Maybe next time, I’ll use glue dots.

If you’re wondering what I was trying to do with that mouth, I’ll tell you:  I have no idea.  I think I was trying to make it look scary, but I don’t remember.  It seemed like a good idea at the time.  Clearly, I need help!

At the thrift store, sometimes I can get sheer panels for only a dollar or two.  Sometimes they have holes in them or they’ve been clawed by pets, but that doesn’t really matter for making raggedy ghosts, does it?

I tried to do the same thing with white garbage bags, but they weren’t as cute.  The plastic wasn’t as floaty and it looked like a bag of garbage hung from a tree.

I think you had better try this and send me some pictures.  Or at least tell me what I’m doing wrong with these faces!

Thanks for checking in!  Maria

Leave a Reply

