Crochet hat with pom pom yarn edge

SAMSUNG

I just love pom pom yarn, don’t you?  I recently came across a good-sized stash of Red Heart Spark-A-Doodle yarn.  It’s been discontinued (sad, sad!) so I bought a bunch for the store.

My daughter twisted my arm a little, and I crocheted her a hat.  She didn’t need to twist very hard.  I just love how soft the pom poms are!

I didn’t use a pattern, and that’s why the hat looks like a mushroom.  🙂  I used Festival Mix Fiber bulky yarn for most of the hat, and then I added a row of pom poms.  I had to rip out the pom poms the first time because I spaced them too far apart.  I had one single crochet (with one pom pom) per stitch of the bulky yarn, which made it too tight .  So I pulled out the last row and re-worked it with two single crochets (and two pom poms) per stitch of the bulky yarn.  I’ve started a scarf too.

My daughter is too shy to model the hat, so I had to make do with my fake head.

I really love this light blue color.  I reminds me of a neighbor when I was growing up because she told me lots of times that it was her favorite color.  She was like everybody’s grandma – a very funny, sweet lady.  She gave me my first cup of coffee.  I had gone over to her house to talk because I was upset about the events of Jonestown, Guyana.  (This was in 1978.)  The kids there were caught up in all that murder because they were trying to do the right thing.  Their parents told them what to do, and their pastor told them what to do, and they were murdered doing what they were told.  I was worried that I needed to stop doing things because people I loved and trusted told me they were the right things, and I was afraid I would make a mistake.  I dumped all that on her and I was a bit of a mess.  She took a deep breath and shook her head.  “You’re right, that’s a doozy.  Looks like you’re going to need a cup of coffee.”  She heated up the water in the kettle on the stove and made me a little instant decaf with a whole lot of milk.  She put the cup in front of me and looked me right in the eye.  “Welcome to adolescence, Maria.”

Leave a Reply

